Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 75

Warning: Memcache::get() [memcache.get]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 71

Warning: Memcache::add() [memcache.add]: No servers added to memcache connection in /home/measured/public_html/libs/phpcache/drivers/phpcache.driver.memcached.class.php on line 65
Boingo Wireless Complaint - Huge undisclosed fees - Boingo foreign wireless
Boingo Wireless Complaint

Boingo Wireless Complaint


Huge undisclosed fees - Boingo foreign wireless

Boingo Wireless advertises low rates. When you create an account, you give a credit card number. I recently was in Germany at a hotel and they had wireless internet access. I clicked on the browser and Boingo came up. I could not get on the hotel service because the Boingo service came up. I had no information as to cost or time of service. I did click on Boingo and got online. I got home two days ago and had two bills from Boingo for $19.95 each. I had no information on how much the service would cost or its timeframe. I called Boingo re this and was told that when I signed up (at least 6 months ago) there was a message regarding foreign signups, but not what it would cost. I was also told that I could have gone online to find out what the charge would be. How can I get online without signing up for service where I was. I was told by Bianca Carmichael that I should have done that before I left. I did not know where I would be when I left. This company is exploiting its customers. I canceled my account and will not use it again. I will put these amounts in dispute with my credit card company. Michael M. Patterson

Share This Review:


Is this your Business? Claim Your Business Free and reply to this customer


Post a reply for this review COMMENT
WRITE to Boingo Wireless
SUBMIT a ticket
for Boingo Wireless
WATCH videos
for Boingo Wireless
More Boingo Wireless Reviews and Complaints MORE reviews and complaints
for Boingo Wireless


Company was claimed GREAT NEWS, this company has Partnered with MeasuredUp and uses it to answer you!
Link to MeasuredUp BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Excellence Badge
Take the pledge BUSINESSES: Free Customer Service Pledge Badge
Upgrade Account BUSINESSES: Build your customer service online reputation



boingo says: (8 years ago)
So sorry to hear you've had a frustrating experience with us. We want our customers to be happy with Boingo, and I promise we would *never* try to rip you off.

Would you please email me at lsanyal at boingo dot com with your username, so I can look into your account and determine what happened? I'd like to make things right.

boingo says: (9 years ago)
Dear Michael,

I'm sorry to hear you had a negative experience with Boingo. This certainly isn't the excellent customer experience we strive for everyday, and I'd like to make things right. To be absolutely clear, I will try to explain what happened.

When you created your Boingo As You Go account, the description you were presented with states: "Enjoy Boingo Wi-Fi for the next 24 hours at this hotspot for just $7.95. Future connections will be billed at just $7.95 per connection at individual hotspots within North and South America, $9.95 per connection at individual hotspots in Asia/Pacific, and $19.95 per connection at individual hotspots in Europe, Middle East, and Africa." We understand that it's been a while since you've seen this description and that it's hard to predict where your travels will take you.

So,when the software initially appears (before you're logged in), we also present our Boingo AsYouGo customers with a message that states: "Enjoy 24 hours of Wi-Fi at this location for just $ X.XX." Please note: "$ X.XX" will be populated with $7.95, $9.95, or $19.95, depending on your geographic location.

It's possible that you did not see this message because you have version 10.5 of the Boingo software for Mac. Please download the latest version at http://www.boingo.com/download-boingo.php and enjoy our newest features!

As a courtesy, we've refunded $39.90 to the credit card we have on file. Please note: It may take 48-72 hours for the refund to post to your account.

Thank you for your feedback; we appreciate it! If there's anything else we can do to ensure a satisfactory resolution, I hope you'll let us know.

elviajero says: (9 years ago)
I use Boingo services (unlimited) on a frequent basis and I am more than happy with the service as I travel extensively throughout the Americas. I also know that when I signed up, I read everything clearly. For those who cry non stop about paying additional fees, you need to start reading instead of just signing up! All the education is readily available for you. Boingo has been nothing but awesome when it comes to billing and customer service!

gman2 says: (10 years ago)
I also had the same problem with BOINGO connection abroad. Only they charge me 138 usd for a 1 time connection for 12 hr period. The computer just was in sleep mode for most of the time. The software popup is very dangerous if used abroad. They will not tell you will accumulate huge penalty fees for using there service. Do not give them you credit card#. This will be on there record for ever. I had to cancel my cr. card. so they could not randomly charge their hidden fees. This is a very dangerous company to deal with. They will tell you did not read about the hidden PREMIUM SERVICE? know where do they explain how much and where they will occur. SCAM BOINGO! SCAM BOINGO! RIP OFF BOINGO!

login with Facebook and share your reviews

More Boingo Wireless reviews

Similar reviews


Bookmark/Share this page

This page is under construction.
It will be up and running soon with new features to make you smile more.
The MeasuredUp Team